This is so ’80s!  I remember as a child, when, my brother and I realized my mum was preparing this, it meant it was actually going to be a party. Incidentally we were not allowed to have mayonnaise except on special occasions, and the preparation of the  Tuna and Potatoes Fish normally lead to more interesting food (for kids), like hamburgers and the like.

I have inherited the mold my mother had used for the past 35 years to prepare this recipe, and it is with pride that I am posting this today, however, I had to adapt this recipe. Back in the ’80s there was not much fuss about cholesterol and waistline, and the amount of mayo and other fats in the original recipe would horrify my contemporaries.

This is the original picture that came with the recipe – credited to Mrs Mara Monerini – Florence (Italy)

  • 240 gr tuna (oil well drained)
  • 350 gr potatoes
  • 1/2 Tbsp capers (finely chopped)
  • 4 hard boiled eggs
  • 3 Tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1/2 Tbsp anchovy paste
  • sliced gherkin

In a bowl mash the potatoes, the drained tuna, the chopped capers and the hard-boiled eggs. Mix in 2 Tbsp mayonnaise.

Line a fish shaped mold with cling film. Transfer the compost to the mold, pressing firmly (you need the compost to fit the crevices of your mold).

Transfer to the fridge for at least two hours.

Remove from the mold and transfer to a serving plate. Place the remaining mayonnaise in a piping bag and decorate the fish following your taste and artistic skills (mine are close to non-existent).

Can I keep on cheating and pretend this is FISH ?

