Tags

, , , , ,


I finally got round to open my mother’s recipe box. While painful at the beginning, as I flipped through the recipes, memories emerged and the grief left place to joy; all the recipes brought me back to joyful moments, both in the kitchen as well as around the family table.

I have thus decided that the next posts will see as many “old” recipes (which, by looking at the amount of fats, will have to be re-edited) as I can succeed to cook. Here’s goes one of the most bizarre; to be honest I cannot remember eating this pink pasta; maybe mom just scribbled the recipe down but never took courage to cook it; I did!

  • 1 can Libby’s Sliced Beets (drained)
  • 1/2 cup onion (chopped)
  • 1 cup double cream
  • 1/2 cup smoked pancetta (cubed)
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese (grated)
  • 1/2 Tbsp oil
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • fresh basil leaves
  • 210 gr Rigatoni pasta

Start by boiling 1 liter water. Add the oil to a heavy based pan. Add the onion, saute for 4/5 minutes, add the pancetta and cook until crispy. Drain the beetroot (freeze  the liquid for a Red Velvet cake !). Cook for 5 minutes.

Transfer the mix to a food processor’s bowl, add the double cream and set to full speed until the mixture turns to a pink and has a smooth consistency. Return to the pan, heat at very low heat.

Cook the pasta “al dente”, drain and toss in the pink mixture. Let the pink mixture imbue the pasta, transfer to the plate, sprinkle with freshly ground pepper, Parmesan cheese and (optional) decorate with fresh basil leave.

I wish I had found this on Valentine’s day 🙂

