I do not celebrate Valentine’s Day. I never have. I appreciate, however, that some people find it a day to celebrate. As it’s part of my heritage, here I go; I have  two ready-to-roll pastry rolls I have decided to prepare cookies to take to the office tomorrow morning.

  • 2 ready-to-roll shortbread pastry rolls
  • 1 egg (for the egg wash)
  • 1 cookie cutter (heart-shaped)
  • Icing sugar
  • Rainbow candy coated sprinkle chips
  • Candied fruits

Heat the oven to 180’C (350’F).

Roll out the shortbread pastry rolls; cut the cookies and transfer to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Brush the biscuits-to-be with the egg wash; dust some icing sugar on top. Sprinkle the biscuits-to-be with rainbow candy coated sprinkle chips, place some candied fruits bits on any other biscuits-to-be.

Transfer to the oven for 12 minutes (watch after 8 minutes as they might burn).

Remove from the cookie-sheet and transfer over a cooling-rack.

Store in an air-tight container until ready to eat.

