Those who know me, know well I am not a fish lover (and with fish I also mean seafood as well as crustaceans); however, in an attempt to comply with 2012 resolutions (yet again), I am going to include fish in my diet (yeah right!); not to have a shock I must also have pork, under the appearance of speck.

A blast from the past: lemon decoration straight from the '80s

  • 6 Tiger prawns
  • 6 slices speck
  • 1 Tbsp clarified butter or ghee
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice and zest of one lemon
  • 2 Tbsp e.v.o. oil
  • salt
  • chopped parsley

Squeeze the lemon and get its zest in a bowl, add salt and oil and mix well; clean the prawns (leaving the head on) and marinate (in the fridge) for at least one hour.

In a large skillet, heat the ghee, very quickly “brown” the prawns. Drain on kitchen paper to remove excess fat and set aside.

Heat a heavy based grill pan, wrap one slice of bacon on every prawn, leaving the head uncovered. Transfer to the grill pan until the fat of the speck becomes translucent, flipping only once during cooking time.

Sprinkle with parsley and serve hot.

Serves 2 as main course, 3 as hors d’oeuvres

