I know most of you imagined the end of a TV show (how often have we heard that) or worst that I was going out of “business”, nay! none of that. The pouring rain of today marked the beginning of the rainy season and declared the end of Summer (forget the calendar, it’s October 20th and up until the other day was still warm and sunny here).

Because of the VERY bad weather, and the condition of the streets, I could not make it to the office today, nor I could go out shopping, thus I was once again confronted with whatever was available in the fridge. I had bought some Feta Cheese yesterday as well as cherry tomatoes (from now on surely unavailable fresh and/or not imported), I had thawed some Okra pods and a packet of puff pastry; therefore I came up with a savoury clafoutis recipe. Because this is a vegetarian dish, my friend Heda would appreciate this.

As you see, what I had originally thought of, changed while I was preparing the clafoutis, incidentally both the Mozzarella cheese and the chilli flakes are missing from the ingredients picture below.

  • 1/2 pkt Whole Okra pods
  • 2 free range eggs
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 pkt (100g/ 1/2 cup) Feta cheese
  • 1 small onion
  • 1/2 Mozzarella cheese
  • 1 pkt puff pastry (ready to roll)
  • 1/2 Tbsp e.v.o. oil
  • 1/4 Tbsp chilli flakes

In a large pan, heat the oil and toss the coarsely chopped onion, sauté for a while (it should not turn brown).

.

Add the whole Okra pods, sprinkle with some chilli flakes and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes (keep watching the colour of your onion). .

Half the cherry tomatoes and add to the pan, stir fry for 5 minutes.

Heat the oven to 180’C (350’F).

Meanwhile, in a food mixer, blitz the eggs and the feta cheese together, to obtain a nice, smooth, sauce. Roll out the puff pastry onto a pie tin. Transfer the vegetables on the pastry, cover with the sauce.

Chop the mozzarella cheese and sprinkle on the vegetables.

Transfer to oven and cook for 20/25 minutes, you want the pastry to turn brown.

Serves 4

