Tags

, , , , , , , ,


When I prepared the Pesto Lasagna I promised I was going to post the recipe for Basic Pasta Dough; this is an is extremely versatile dough as it can turn into Lasagna, Fettuccine, Cannelloni and so on.

It’s a no brainer recipe, all you need is flour, eggs, salt and oil. For every 100g (1/2 cup) flour you need an egg.

  • 200g (1 level cup) all-purpose flour
  • 2 very fresh eggs (best quality you can afford)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp e.v.o. oil

In the Kitchen Aid bowl, measure the flour. Crack the eggs and let it mix thoroughly; you want the ingredients to combine into a nice, smooth dough.

If necessary finish mixing the dough using your hands. Mount now the dough rolling tool on the Kitchen Aid (or use a rolling pin, in this case I salute you) and roll out half the dough (keep the other half covered as it dries out rapidly).

At first it will break as it goes through the tool

Lose no confidence and continue putting the dough trough the tool, soon the gluten will do its job and it will come out nice and smooth.

Roll the dough (I set my tool to position #4) to a one large lasagna noodle Continue with other half.

Hey, presto! You’re done.

I needed the Pasta Dough for tonight’s Fettuccine Alfredo, thus I switched Kitchen Aid tool and mounted the Fettuccine cutter.

Pass the noodle through the blades  and arrange the Fettuccine on a floured surface to prevent sticking (dust some flour on the noodles too).

