I love lasagna in any shape or form! I love it better the day after, cold and tastier (don’t we all?). One of my favourite recipe for lasagna is the Pesto Lasagna.

Let’s be frank, I am going to cheat here. It’s already 7:30pm, I have had a very long day in the office and I have to fix dinner for six in less than two hours; do you really expect me to prepare lasagna (will post the recipe on a Sunday morning) and/or pesto (ditto). I am going to use tinned pesto and factory made lasagna noodles; for once my KitchenAid can rest on its shelf.

For the white sauce (a.k.a. Béchamel):

  • 1 cup (210g)all purpose flour
  • 1 lt milk
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup (110g) butter
  • salt

Melt the butter on very low heat; sieve on top of the melted butter the flour and mix to obtain a roux. Add the milk and stir, constantly, for twenty minutes or until boiling (be careful not to burn it).

Unpack the lasagna sheets. Spray with PAM the bottom and sides of the pan, coat with breadcrumbs.

Mix the Pesto to the white sauce and start layering the noodles, white sauce/pesto and mozzarella (chopped into 1/2 cm cubes) until the last layer of noodles.  

On top of this, just spread the white sauce/pesto mix, add the rest of the Parmesan/GranaPadano and top with the breadcrumbs; dot with butter and wrap tightly with foil and parchment paper .

Cook in hot (190’/200’C) for 1 hour, uncover and keep in the oven to obtain a nice golden crust. Remove from oven and let it stand for at least 20 minutes.

Serves 6

