In total honesty I cannot recall the author of this recipe, which is a no-bake wonder; it was granted to me back in the ’90s by one of my colleagues who has now retired (lucky her).

I have made this many times, as it tastes great, but too often the filling did not set properly, thus as long as cold, the consistency was quite firm, but a while out of the fridge the filling started oozing out. I now have found a solution to this problem, therefore I have promoted it to my favourite Cheesecake recipe.

Tonight Betta and her sons will be over here for dinner; I will be serving a revised Pesto Lasagna (no green beans added as Alessandro is no fan of vegetables) and the Chicken Kellog’s meatballs; I thought of ending dinner with a nice treat, here it goes:

Melt the butter on very low heat and crumble the biscuits in a food processor; add the warm butter to the biscuits, add the sugar. Transfer to a spring cake form, lined with parchment paper. Place in the fridge to set for at least one hour.

In a bowl, soften the gelatine sheets in cold water for 10 minutes.

Squeeze the lemons in a pan (retaining the pips), and heat the juice on very low heat, ; away from the heat add the gelatine sheets, well drained,  and mix until dissolved.

In the food processor, place the zest of the lemons, add the Philadelphia cheese and the condensed milk (yes the whole tin, this is not for the faint of heart), add the lemon juice/gelatine mix and blitz until well incorporated;  spoon on the cake crust. I have added a few blackberry (again, kids are no fruit lovers) but, for topping,  you can use the method as per Max’s Cheesecake.

Keep in the fridge for at least two hours or until well set; remove 30 minutes before serving it.

Serves 8-10

“Easy Peasy”  comes from a 1970’s british TV commercial for Lemon Squeezy detergent, not the new name for Ubuntu Eee (I know you think I am a computer geek).

In the video they were with a little girl who points out dirty greasy dishes to an adult (mom ?) and then this adult produces Lemon Squeezy and they clean the dishes quickly. At the end of the commercial the girl says “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy”

